Kimberly Bega, LPC

Kimberly Bega, LPC

Hello, my name is Kimberly, and I am a licensed professional counselor (LPC). I received my Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from Miami University (in Ohio, not Florida) and my Master’s degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania. I have had the opportunity to work with clients as a therapist for seven years (four years as a fully licensed therapist) in three different states and in both rural and urban areas. I have had chances to work in both outpatient and home- and school-based settings, as well as deliver therapy via telehealth. I have experience working with both adults and children but especially love working with children and adolescents because of the opportunity for early intervention, which is why I chose youth as my focus area in my graduate studies.

How I Can Help

I believe we are a team; I bring my knowledge and experience with other clients who may have had a similar diagnosis or problem, but you as the parent/guardian bring your knowledge of your child, your family, and your community. I tend to favor a mix of cognitive behavioral therapy (working on the relationships between thoughts, feelings, and behaviors) and solution-focused therapy (building on the strengths and resources your child and your family already have) but tailor my approach to each client and also sometimes incorporate games and creative activities into therapy. I am also a big believer in educating clients and their parents about their diagnoses and building up more supports to help them get through the time between our sessions. I consider myself a “general practitioner” within the realm of child and adolescent therapy, but my experiences include working with clients with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, autism, depression, trauma, everyday life stressors, and grief and loss. I especially enjoy working with gifted children, military families, and children impacted by the foster care system.

More about Me

I am fairly new to Texas but have been enjoying opportunities to get to explore and learn more about Texas history, culture, and cuisine. I love to cook and bake and try new recipes, and I also enjoy a variety of different craft activities, board games, books, movies, and music. I am married and currently have one dog and two cats.

 

Ready to Experience more?

Schedule an Appointment

Locations to Serve our Families